Scholarships for Residents of Other States




Minimum 3.5 High School GPA and
27 ACT or 1220 SAT


2 years PSC*


Minimum 3.00 High School GPA and
22 ACT or 1030 SAT


2 years at PSC*


Minimum 2.5 High School GPA and
20 ACT OR 950 SAT


1 year at PSC


*This scholarship is fully integrated with the scholarship program at West Virginia University. If a student decides to transfer to WVU after leaving Potomac State College and meets the academic progress standards for this scholarship, the student will be eligible to continue to receive this scholarship at WVU at the current WVU value.  Students in PSC four-year programs are eligible for the scholarships for up to four years. The Catamount Award is not a transferable scholarship. 

•Value of scholarship at WVU will be determined by current value of scholarship at WVU when student changes campuses.

•Metro counties include Allegany and Garrett counties, MD; Frederick County, VA; Bedford, Fayette, and Somerset counties, PA.

•Effective with the incoming freshman class of 2015, PSC uses “Super Scores” for scholarship awarding, so students should submit all scores from each section of the ACT or SAT if the test(s) is taken more than once. The “Super Score” will be calculated using the highest component/subscore from all test information available to PSC.

•If a student is eligible for more than one scholarship from Potomac State College, the student will be awarded the scholarship with the highest dollar value. To retain scholarships for subsequent years, all scholars are required to maintain specific cumulative grade-point averages and to complete a minimum number of credits per year.

•Guidelines and renewal information can be found here.

•Scholarship amounts may be affected if students are receiving need-based aid from state or Federal programs