Student Government Association

We, the students… of Potomac State College of West Virginia University, strive to continue the traditions of the College; enhance academic standards and College facilities, encourage good citizenship among the students and to the community; aid in promoting a cordial relationship among students, faculty, staff, and administration; stimulate support of all College activities and programs; enhance each student’s sense of responsibility to the College and society; support the Constitution of the enrolled students in the Student Government Association of Potomac State College of West Virginia University.

2014-15 SGA Executive Board:

Lewis Vicinus
SGA President

Jordan Twigg
SGA Vice President

Mykala Smith
Public Relations Officer

Charles McKay

Iain Feezle
Attorney General

2014-15 SGA Board of Representatives:

Mackenzie Halterman
Speaker of the House & Residence Hall Student Representative

Jered Horton
Commuter Student Representative 

Jason Lance
Commuter Student Representative

Ryan Dickerson
Residence Hall Student Representative 

Patrick McKone
Non-Traditional Student Representative

Where is the SGA Office Located?

The SGA Office is located on the top floor of the Student Union. Officers have posted Office Hours each week, so stop on by during those hours if you have any questions!

When & Where are the Student Body Meetings?

All Potomac State students are invited and encouraged to attend SGA Student Body Meetings. They are held in The Loft of the Student Union at the following dates and times:

All meetings at 6:30 PM

October 7th

October 21st

November 4th

November 18th

December 2nd

What does SGA actually do?

SGA is woven into the governance structure of Potomac State College of WVU. SGA officers serve on all faculty/executive committees and councils where they are the “voice of the students.”

SGA sponsors numerous campus-wide programs and activities including, but not limited to, Student Organization Grants, USA Today College Readership Program (free USA Today newspapers for students; stand is located on the front porch of the Student Union), American Red Cross Blood Drives, Ideas and Issues funds for faculty, social mixers, Fall Fest, Winter Fest, Spring Bash, Homecoming Dance, and the end-of-year bus trip for students to an amusement park.

How does SGA help Student Organizations on campus?

SGA has earmarked money for College-sanctioned Student Organizations to use to pay for activities and programs that will benefit the College community.

Student organizations can apply for these monies by completing a SGA Grant Application that is available online, in the Student Affairs Office, or in the SGA Office.

To be eligible for these grants, student organizations must be in good standing with the College, must be officially recognized by the College, and Registered with the Office of Student Involvement.

Special Note : Student Organization Grant opportunities will continue for the 2014-15 academic year.